Pub 10pm curfew: Which 42 Tory MPs REBELLED against Boris Johnson?

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Now, a slew of Tory MPs have voted against the Prime Minister in a vote regarding the new tiered-system for restrictions in England. New restrictions linked to the three-tier system come into place on Wednesday, October 14. Areas with growing or high infection rates will be classified into one of three tiers, with Tier 1 being the lowest level of alert, to Tier 3 being the highest.

The new system has been met with a mixed response, with many criticising the curfew on the hospitality industry, which has suffered immensely throughout the COVID-19 crisis.

The 42 Conservative MPs voted against the bringing in of new restrictions, which includes the curfew and ratification of heavier restrictions in areas with a large number of coronavirus cases.

Despite this, Boris Johnson comfortably won the vote, by 299 votes to 82.

A total of 23 Labour MPs, including former leader Jeremy Corbyn, also defied Sir Keir Starmer and voting with the Conservative rebels against the Government.

What does this mean for Boris Johnson?

The list of Tory rebels isn’t just confined to the usual rebellious suspects this time – the rebellion was larger than expected, and is the biggest rebellion of his premiership so far.

The rebels were led by Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the 1922 committee, a key player in the backbenches with a considerable amount of influence within the party.

Other figures included Sir Charles Walker, ex-minister Esther McVey and veterans including David Davis, Sir Christopher Chope, Sir John Redwood and Sir Desmond Swayne from the Tories’ more libertarian wing.

Hardline Brexiteers also joined in the party, as well as those from the key former ‘red wall’ in the north of England.

MP for Bolton West Chris Green quit as a junior ministerial aide minute before the vote took place.

In a brutal resignation letter to the Prime Minister, Mr Green slammed the local lockdown in Bolton, saying the “attempted cure is worse than the disease.”

Labour civil war: Corbyn takes brutal swipe at Keir Starmer [REPORT]
Boris Johnson urged to drop tier-2 coronavirus level by Bernard Jenkin [INSIGHT]
Coronavirus POLL: Should Boris call a two-week total lockdown? [VOTE]

The 42 Conservative MPs who rebelled were:
• Imran Ahmad Khan (Wakefield)
• Sir David Amess (Southend West)
• Steve Baker (Wycombe)
• Harriett Baldwin (West Worcestershire)
• Bob Blackman (Harrow East)
• Crispin Blunt (Reigate)
• Peter Bone (Wellingborough)
• Sir Graham Brady (Altrincham and Sale West)
• Sir Christopher Chope (Christchurch)
• Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (The Cotswolds)
• James Daly (Bury North)
• Philip Davies (Shipley)
• David Davis (Haltemprice and Howden)
• Dehenna Davison (Bishop Auckland),
• Jackie Doyle-Price (Thurrock)
• Richard Drax (South Dorset)
• Marcus Fysh (Yeovil)
• Nusrat Ghani (Wealden)
• Chris Green (Bolton West)

• Tom Hunt (Ipswich)
• Pauline Latham (Mid Derbyshire)
• Chris Loder (West Dorset)
• Tim Loughton (East Worthing and Shoreham)
• Anthony Mangnall (Totnes)
• Karl McCartney (Lincoln)
• Esther McVey (Tatton)
• Huw Merriman (Bexhill and Battle)
• Anne Marie Morris (Newton Abbot)
• Sir John Redwood (Wokingham)
• Andrew Rosindell (Romford)

• Gary Sambrook (Birmingham Northfield)
• Bob Seely (Isle of Wight),
• Henry Smith (Crawley)
• Sir Desmond Swayne (New Forest West)
• Sir Robert Syms (Poole)
• Derek Thomas (St Ives)
• Craig Tracey (North Warwickshire)
• Matt Vickers (Stockton South)
• Christian Wakeford (Bury South)
• Sir Charles Walker (Broxbourne)
• Giles Watling (Clacton)
• William Wragg (Hazel Grove)

Source: Read Full Article