Sajid Javid declares he will NOT stand at next election

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Sajid Javid has become the thirteenth Tory MP to announce he will not be contesting his seat at the next election. The former health secretary informed the Bromsgrove Conservative Association in a letter this morning.  Conservative MPs have been given a deadline of 5 December to inform the party whether they would like to contest their seats at the next election.

The Tory MPs who have announced they will be standing down include Dehenna Davison, who was elected in 2019 as Bishop Auckland’s first-ever Conservative MP, and William Wragg, vice-chairman of the influential 1922 Committee of Tory backbenchers.

In a tweet announcing his resignation, Mr Javid said: “After much reflection I have decided that I will not be standing again at the next General Election.

“Serving as the Member of Parliament for Bromsgrove remains an incredible privilege, and I will continue to support the Government and the causes I believe in.”

In his letter to Bromsgrove Conservative Association, Mr Javid he said he had “wrestled” with the decision “for some time”.

He added: “This decision will not mark the end of my Parliamentary activity, particularly for the causes I care deeply about. Now will it impact my duties as a local MP on behalf of constituents across Bromsgrove”.

The former Health Secretary also signalled his support for Rishi Suank, saying: “I will of course continue to support my friend the Prime Minister and the people of Bromsgrove in any way I can”.

The swathe of MPs deciding not to contest their seats at the next election comes amid worrying approval ratings for the Conservative Party, with Labour regularly leading in the polls. 


Source: Read Full Article